News

See below for the latest CaskieMushens' news - new signings, new deals, prizes, and bestsellers. 

 
john-boyega-letitia-wright.jpg

9th November 2018

John Boyega, Letitia Wright To Star In Mike Cahill-Directed Sci-Fi ‘Hold Back The Stars’

Star Wars‘ John Boyega and Black Panther‘s Letitia Wright are attached to star in what is being called Romeo & Juliet meets GravityMike Cahill will direct a script by Christy Hall. Shawn Levy’s 21 Laps is producing. The film is based on Katie Khan’s novel HOLD BACK THE STARS, published by Transworld UK, Simon & Schuster US and in more than 20 other countries around the world.

Katie’s new novel THE LIGHT BETWEEN US is out in paperback on 29th November and you can buy it here.

8th November 2018

HQ scoops film-maker's 'emotional' debut

HQ has acquired the debut novel Love & Other Things to Live For, described as being perfect for fans of Sally Rooney and Dolly Alderton, by film-maker Louise Leverett.

Billed as “an emotional work of fiction” about the “trials and tribulations of love in your 20s” by HQ, the novel follows Jessica Wood, an aspiring photographer living in London. With a newly broken heart, she’s facing a battle between the past and the future, choosing between having a life, or making a living – finding her feet or spreading her wings.

Editor Clio Cornish acquired world English language rights from Juliet Mushens at Caskie Mushens and will publish in paperback, e-book and audio book in spring 2019.

Leverett runs her own motion picture production company, Rock the Tribes, providing film and imagery to brands, artists and businesses such as HarperCollins, Head of Zeus and Alexander McQueen.

“Louise has an incredible ability to tap into the soul and draw out difficult and emotional experiences with an unflinching but empathetic eye,” said Cornish. “Effortlessly taking the reader on a journey through the peaks and pitfalls of life as a young woman in London, this a beautifully written, extremely timely debut novel, and a perfect addition to HQ’s list."

Leverett said: "I am incredibly excited to be releasing my debut with HQ. Having spent my twenties growing up in London I cannot think of a better setting for my novel. Writing Love, and Other Things to Live For has been an extremely creative and rewarding experience and, of course, could not have been done without the support and brilliance from all the team at HQ."


23rd October 2018

Scott’s A Treachery of Spies shortlisted for a Saltire Literary Award

The 2018 Saltire Literary Awards shortlist was announced yesterday and Manda Scott’s electrifying new novel A Treachery of Spies has been shortlisted for the Fiction Book of the Year Award. The announcement was made at an event hosted at the West End branch of Waterstones in Edinburgh.

Scotland’s foremost literary award, the Saltire Award supports and celebrates literary excellence across six distinct categories. Each category will be judged by an expert panel and the winner of each book award will receive a cash prize of £2,000 and go on to be considered for the top prize of £5,000, awarded to the Saltire Society Book of the Year.

A Treachery of Spies was published in August by Transworld and it has already been longlisted for the Guardian’s Not The Booker Award.

To read the full Saltire Society Award shortlist, click here.


22nd October 2018

Williams’ The Ninth Rain wins Best Fantasy Novel 2018

The Ninth Rain, the first novel in Jen Williams’ blistering ‘The Winnowing Flame’ trilogy has just won Best Fantasy Novel at the British Fantasy Society awards!

The winners, selected through a combination of voting and juries, were announced yesterday at Fantasycon, an annual convention for readers, writers, editors, and publishers of all things Fantasy, Horror and Science Fiction.

Following on from this award-winning novel, Williams’ second book in ‘The Winnowing Flame’ trilogy, The Bitter Twins, was recently published in the UK by Headline and the final novel of the series, The Poison Song, is due to be published in May 2019.


11th October 2018

Winnie Li awarded an honorary degree at National University of Ireland


Winnie Li is being awarded with an honorary degree today at NUI for her contribution to arts and as an advocate for women’s rights.

Winnie is the author of Dark Chapter, a novel which follows the lives of two individuals whose paths collide one Spring afternoon in West Belfast in a horrifying act of violence. Her novel won the Not The Booker Prize in 2017 and has been nominated for numerous other awards, namely the Edgar Award and CWA Debut Dagger.

In addition to her writing, Winnie co-founded the Clear Lines Festival, an event where speakers, artists and activists come together to discuss the changing narrative on Sexual Assault and Consent. This is the first festival dedicated to this discussion and has received great support from the public since its launch in 2015.

To read more about the Clear Lines festival, head to their homepage here.


5th October 2018

Double Success - Tin Man shortlisted for Books Are My Bag Readers Awards 2018

Sarah Winman’s new novel Tin Man has been shortlisted for the 2018 Books Are My Bag Readers Awards. This award - curated by booksellers and voted for by book lovers - is the only one of its kind and has been running for three years.

Tin Man will be judged within the Novel Award category, alongside five other titles. There are seven categories in total that make up the Readers Awards, including the Poetry Award, Beautiful Book Award and Young Readers Award. The eight winners - one from each category, plus the Reader’s Choice Award - will be announced on 13th November.

Cast your own vote here - voting closes on 5th November.

This announcement closely follows the novel being longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal of Excellence earlier this month! See below for the full article.


4th October 2018

Winman’s Tin Man longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal of Excellence


Sarah Winman’s most recent novel, Tin Man (published in the US by Putnam), has been longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal of Excellence. This medal was established in 2012 and aims to recognise the best fiction and non-fiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. in the previous year.

The six-title shortlist for this medal will be chosen on October 24, 2018 and the winners (one for fiction and one for non-fiction) will be announced at the RUSA Book and Media Awards Ceremony in January. Both winners of this prestigious medal will receive a $5,000 cash prize.

To read the full longlist, click here.


12th September 2018

Mantle buys Maynard's novel about ex-prisoner

Mantle has bought a second novel by Frances Maynard, about a “social misfit” recently released from prison.

Sam Humphreys, associate publisher at the Pan Macmillan imprint, acquired UK and Commonwealth rights to The End of the Sentence from Juliet Mushens at Caskie Mushens. It is slated for publication in June next year. 

Mantle published Maynard's first novel, The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr, last year after buying it at auction in 2016. It was a runner-up in the Good Housekeeping 2014 First Novel Award and the Society of Authors’ 2018 McKitterick Prize, and was shortlisted for both the 2016 Mslexia First Novel Competition and the Lucy Cavendish Prize.

Humphreys said of the new book: “Like Elvira, it’s a brilliantly heart-warming, original and charming story of a character some might see as a social misfit trying to make — and ultimately succeeding in making — her way in the world. In this instance, that character is Maggsie who, recently released from prison and barely able to read or write, wants to do the right thing but is faced with temptation at every turn. Frances is wonderful at capturing the quandaries, conflicts and contradictions that Maggsie deals with on a daily basis, and also paints a wonderful picture of the importance of both friendship and the written word."

Maynard said: “I’m thrilled to be working with the lovely, kind and insightful Sam Humphreys again, and am looking forward to introducing another ‘outsider’ heroine who gets there in the end.”


22nd August 2018

The internet's favourite cat Curious Zelda makes the ITV news.

This week, Curious Zelda and her owner Matt Taghioff were featured on the ITV news at 6pm, following the announcement of Curious Zelda's first book, The Adventures of a Curious Cat, which will be published by Sphere  next year. Reporter Sam Holder went to meet the feline star and owner at their London home, to find out more about the idea behind the new book.

Watch the segment yourself by clicking here!


25th July 2018

Mussolini's Island shortlisted for a Polari Prize!

polari prize.jpg

This is an exciting month for Sarah Day as her novel, Mussolini's Island, has been shortlisted for a Polari First Book Prize just days after it won a Betty Trask award at the Author Awards 2018.

Founded by journalist and author, Paul Burston, the Polari Prize is awarded annually to a writer whose first book explores the LGBT experience, whether in poetry, prose, fiction or non-fiction. Judges for the 2018 prize are Paul Burston himself; author and former Head of Literature & Spoken Word at the Southbank, Rachel Holmes; author and comedian, VG Lee; author, performer and writing coach Karen McLeod and playwright, actor and producer, Alexis Gregory. 

The winner will be announced on 20th October 2018 at the London Literature Festival. 


   Different covers of  The Lido  to be released across the world this year.

Different covers of The Lido to be released across the world this year.